J. Brotherlove is a graphic designer, front-end web developer and writer. As a “pioneer” blogger, he’s explored the intersection of pop sub/culture, independent media, race, and sexuality since 1998. Additionally, he is an occasional blogger/columnist for Window Media, the nation’s largest lesbian and gay newspaper group. Currently, he is planning a new web destination to spotlight the black gay online community.

1. How did you get started as a web developer?
I’ve always been passionate about art and graphic design. From there I migrated to desktop publishing and the web. I’m an autodidact by nature and turned my hobby into a career.

2. You are also a blogger. Do you make any money from your blog?
No. But I’ve received other opportunities. I began blogging as mostly a personal outlet. I never intended it to be a money-making venture. I’m working on a couple of other web products that will generate revenue.

3. Have you gotten speaking gigs at conferences as a result of your blog?
I’ve received offers to speak at conferences but, as an introvert, I’ve decline most of them. The topic has to be something I’m passionate about and feel I can lend new insight. So far, I’ve lead sessions at the inaugural Sex 2.0 conference as well as a couple of panel discussions.

4. You live in Atlanta, do you rent or own?
Suzi Orman wouldn’t approve but I’m a big advocate of renting. It requires less work on my part and gives me a sense of freedom. However, I have to admit, plummeting real estate prices have tempted me to purchase something.

5. Have you been seriously affected by the economic downtown? How?
I haven’t been as impacted by the recent economic issues as many of my associates. Several years ago the company I worked for was bought by another and I was laid off. It was the best thing to happen to me as it lead me to my current career, which I love.

6. What is the perfect job or career situation for you?
Something creative and challenging with key decision-making responsibilities. Also, I’d rather not go into an office everyday. And of course, I need to be well compensated, so I can travel.

7. When you were a kid, did you get an allowance? What would you buy?
My parents were pretty frugal which is a trait I inherited. I received a very modest allowance from about 15 years old until I got a job at 18. I spent most of my money hanging out with my friends.

8. What is the one personal item that you always splurge on?
I consider music to be a personal item. I’m obsessed with it and spare little expense on concerts, rare releases, imports, etc. A trip to the music store can easily turn into a 2-hour visit for me.

9. What is the one thing that you feel is always overpriced?
Automobiles. I’m thinking of buying a new(er) car and can’t believe some of the prices for basic models.

10. If money can’t buy happiness, what can it buy?
Money buys me a certain sense of security/peace of mind and affords me the opportunity to do the things that will bring happiness. The periods when I didn’t have enough money to pay bills properly or go to dinner were stressful. Of course, I’ve found other things to stress about.

Read other Queercents interviews in the Ten Money Questions archive.